YOU ARE HERE: Home Festivals Details - Baltimore Pirate Festival

Baltimore Pirate Festival

When:
Fri, 20 Jun 2014 - Sun, 22 Jun 2014 
Where:
Baltimore
Category:
Festivals

A weekend of events remembering in an entertaining and informative way one of the most sensational events in Baltimore’s colourful past and one which made the village a focus of international attention – the attack by Barbary corsairs known as ‘the Sack of Baltimore’. However, the Algerians were by no means the only pirates operating in the waters around Baltimore. The bays and inlets of Roaring Water Bay were the principal European base for pirates of many different nationalities who plied their trade right across the Atlantic to the Caribbean.

The festival includes attractions for all ages (some serious, some less so) based on the theme of the sacking and the story of pirates and piracy around these shores.

2013 festival programme (pdf)

pirate pirate-group pirate-flag pirate-singers

More about the Sack of Baltimore

 

Latest offers

Next events

Fri 2nd May 2014 to Mon 5th May 2014
Walking Talking Festival

Thu 8th May 2014 to Sun 11th May 2014
Fiddle Fair

Fri 23rd May 2014 to Sun 25th May 2014
Seafood Festival

Fri 23rd May 2014 to Sun 25th May 2014
Wooden Boat Festival

Fri 20th Jun 2014 to Sun 22nd Jun 2014
Baltimore Pirate Festival

Recent video

Facebook