YOU ARE HERE: Home Festivals Details - Baltimore Pirate Festival

Baltimore Pirate Festival

When:
Fri, 19 Jun 2015 - Sun, 21 Jun 2015 
Where:
Baltimore
Category:
Festivals

A weekend of events remembering in an entertaining and informative way one of the most sensational events in Baltimore’s colourful past and one which made the village a focus of international attention – the attack by Barbary corsairs known as ‘the Sack of Baltimore’. However, the Algerians were by no means the only pirates operating in the waters around Baltimore. The bays and inlets of Roaring Water Bay were the principal European base for pirates of many different nationalities who plied their trade right across the Atlantic to the Caribbean.

The festival includes attractions for all ages (some serious, some less so) based on the theme of the sacking and the story of pirates and piracy around these shores.

2014 festival programme (pdf)

pirate pirate-group pirate-flag pirate-singers

More about the Sack of Baltimore

 

Latest offers

Next events

Thu 7th May 2015 to Sun 10th May 2015
Fiddle Fair

Fri 22nd May 2015 to Sun 24th May 2015
Seafood Festival

Fri 22nd May 2015 to Sun 24th May 2015
Wooden Boat Festival

Fri 19th Jun 2015 to Sun 21st Jun 2015
Baltimore Pirate Festival

Fri 26th Jun 2015 to Sat 28th Jun 2014
O'Driscoll Clan Gathering

Recent video

Facebook