YOU ARE HERE: Home Festivals Details - Baltimore Pirate Festival

Baltimore Pirate Festival

When:
Sat, 18 Jun 2016 - Sun, 19 Jun 2016 
Where:
Baltimore
Category:
Festivals

A weekend of events remembering in an entertaining and informative way one of the most sensational events in Baltimore’s colourful past and one which made the village a focus of international attention – the attack by Barbary corsairs known as ‘the Sack of Baltimore’. However, the Algerians were by no means the only pirates operating in the waters around Baltimore. The bays and inlets of Roaring Water Bay were the principal European base for pirates of many different nationalities who plied their trade right across the Atlantic to the Caribbean.

The festival includes attractions for all ages (some serious, some less so) based on the theme of the sacking and the story of pirates and piracy around these shores.

Festival programme (pdf)

pirate pirate-group pirate-flag pirate-singers

More about the Sack of Baltimore

 

Latest offers

Next events

Fri 29th Apr 2016 to Mon 2nd May 2016
Walking Talking Festival

Thu 5th May 2016 to Sun 8th May 2016
Fiddle Fair

Fri 27th May 2016 to Sun 29th May 2016
Seafood Festival

Fri 27th May 2016 to Sun 29th May 2016
Wooden Boat Festival

Sat 18th Jun 2016 to Sun 19th Jun 2016
Baltimore Pirate Festival

Recent video

Facebook