YOU ARE HERE: Home Festivals Wooden Boat Festival Details - Wooden Boat Festival

Wooden Boat Festival

When:
Fri, 26 May 2017 - Sun, 28 May 2017 
Where:
Baltimore
Category:
Festivals

The Wooden Boat Festival is a celebration of the traditional timber sailing boats of Ireland and takes the form of three days of sailing, talking, learning and partying in true West Cork style. The first festival was held at Baltimore in May 2002 and was the first gathering of traditional sailing boats on the south west coast since the 1930s. It proved such a success that is was decided to make it an annual event. One of the objectives of the festival is to encourage interest in the traditional, timber working boats of the Baltimore area among enthusiasts and the wider public. There are races and events for rowing and sailing craft and the weekend comes to a climax with the parade of sail on Sunday afternoon. As the festival coincides with Baltimore Seafood Festival, this is one of the most exciting weekends of the whole year.

wooden-boat-festival-2 wooden-boat-festival-5 wooden-boat-festival-4

 

Latest offers

Next events

Wed 3rd May 2017 to Sun 7th May 2017
Fiddle Fair

Fri 26th May 2017 to Sun 28th May 2017
Seafood Festival

Fri 26th May 2017 to Sun 28th May 2017
Wooden Boat Festival

Fri 16th Jun 2017 to Sun 18th Jun 2017
Baltimore Pirate Festival

Thu 22nd Jun 2017 to Sun 25th Jun 2017
O'Driscoll Clan Gathering

Recent video

Facebook