The castle that watches over the West Cork village and harbour of Baltimore from its rocky outcrop was first built by the Anglo-Norman Lord Sleynie in 1215. The name means 'fort of the jewels', which it is thought may be a reference to the castle's role in the collection of taxes levied on foreign vessels entering the harbour.
During the course of a long and turbulent history Dún na Séad passed through many different hands, notably those of the O’Driscolls, until it eventually fell into ruin after being taken by Oliver Cromwell as a garrison for his troops in 1649. Among the first to sack the castle were McCarthys in 1305. By a happy coincidence the present castle has now been carefully restored by other McCarthys, the present owners. Visitors can once again admire the 'Great Hall' or take in the panoramic view across Baltimore Harbour from the battlements.
Dún na Séad Castle
Tel: 028 20735
|Stroll through the Great Hall and battlements and view furnishings, tapestries, artefacts and historical descriptions of the castle's 800 year history.|
Mariners Cove Holiday Village